Complete Beginner

stees777
stees777
06/24/2021 8:03 pm

Hello everyone!

I'm a complete beginner and trying so hard to learn guitar! I have been practicing everyday and it's been 4 months, but I'm still uncomfortable with strumming and changing the chords :( Especially when I use guitar picks either some strings sound so much louder than the others or it just doesn't sound good. I find these lessons are very helpful but I with I can get a real time feedback from others.

How is everyone doing and what's your best way to practice?

# 1
LynnS1951
LynnS1951
06/25/2021 12:05 am

I'm also a complete beginner. Started here three months ago. At the beginning the songs with simplified chords were fun, but then it seemed time to start really working. My 15-25 minutes of daily practice for quite a few weeks has been: the spider legs exercise (I can now keep four fingers down on the first four strings, but not many plucks sound good) and strumming the five chords from Lisa's lesson, making the three changes back and forth. In the last few days my Em/Am change got quick enough for me to go back to the song "Cross the Line". But only yesterday and at 75% speed was I able to make those changes at the end of the verse. So, mostly what I'm achieving is calluses, slower than I would like. I accept this is how it goes.

# 2
wkilleffer
Full Access
wkilleffer
Full Access
06/25/2021 1:50 am

I've been at this off and on for a couple of years, at least. Lisa has some great tips in her lessons, and I'll be picking up where I left off at maybe "Cross That Line." Sorry if I didn't get the title right.

Seems like one way to make sure a practice is constructive is to put a time limit of no more than 30 minutes on it, especially when you're first learning. If you're going to have some sort of technique breakdown, it's going to happen when you try to practice too long, and then you run the risk that whatever wrong thing you might start doing becomes a bad habit that you have to overcome.

# 3