GUITAR SIZE/COMFORTABLE CHAIR BACK PAIN

tammielyn.ts
Full Access
tammielyn.ts
Full Access
11/10/2020 12:49 am

Hey all guitar heros

couple things, first, i am in my first year learning acoustic. i have a yamaha FS800, it says small body guitar, but it doesnt feel small body to me., i have shoulder issues, and it just feels so high to get my shoulder around and sustain without pain and as well in my upper middle back. Also i have to get a new chair., that has really good back support and adjustable. Any suggestions of a really good sounding small guitar, smaller than what i have, and a comfortable chair? Thanks in advance

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/10/2020 2:52 am
Originally Posted by: tammielyn.ts

i have a yamaha FS800, it says small body guitar, but it doesnt feel small body to me.[/quote][p]I don't see any specs that list it as a small body. It looks to me like a fairly standard sized acoustic guitar.

[quote=tammielyn.ts]

Any suggestions of a really good sounding small guitar, smaller than what i have, and a comfortable chair? Thanks in advance

Sorry you are having trouble! You might be more comfortable with a parlor sized guitar.

https://www.guitarcenter.com/Parlor--Acoustic-Guitars.gc

But I'd think that new Fender Squier would be a great option. :)

Christopher Schlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor

Christopher Schlegel Lesson Directory
# 2
manXcat
manXcat
11/10/2020 4:04 am

Yamaha's FS prefix indicates a Concert body. Also available as a cutaway. Storia is also a Concert body.

If you're looking at Yamaha, here are their acoustic body size prefixes.

FG = "Traditional Western" body. A Dreadnought.

CPX = Medium Jumbo

APX = Slimline Concert cutaway. This is what I have and my favourite acoustic of my four. Pick of the bunch. Lubbly jubbly if of average build and you want a fast acoustic neck and body comfort.