Finger and hand strength

rich.messner
Full Access
rich.messner
Full Access
09/29/2020 3:39 am

Hey fellow music and guitar lovers:

I have been playing for 3 months now, but my left hand (Chord hand) still suffers from a lack of strength, fingers, hand in general and pain. I guess my essentail question is, when can I expect my fingers and hand to gain the necessary strength to perform normally?

Keep rockin' and keep the faith always!

Thank you!

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
09/29/2020 11:31 am

Hi Rich

I am not sure on your age but you look to be a bit older - I am 57 btw and took up guitar at 55. It took months for me to work out various aches and pains - I think it was right around 3 months. But mine were more towards my back rather than my frettting hand.

There are some variables to your situation though:

* Are you playing acoustic or electric - I rarely play acoustic

* How long a period a time are you playing for each session - for me its capped at an hour and then usually some playing at night

* Are you playing lots of barr chords? Those are killers when starting out.

The other aspect, and this is usually an age related matter, do you have any arthritis? If you do this could be a cause. I have arhtitis in my neck and it can be a handful at times and the pain is not localized to the effected area.

Good luck with your studies.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
georgialouisearmstrong
georgialouisearmstrong
09/29/2020 1:21 pm

Hi!

I am a 30 mins newborn into guitartricks, an a complete acoustic beginner. I am currently on the spider-leg warm up exercises on the beginner tutorial, which consists of stretching my fingers across all frets, but i am really struggling to span across 4 frets an hold the strings down strongly enough to play a clear note. Will this get easier with practice or are there any exercises I can do to help? It is giving me cramp.

# 3
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access