Pinky G

elenapronk
elenapronk
05/07/2020 2:00 pm

I'm new to guitarplaying, so my hands still need to ajust to the technique, but my ringfinger and pinky can't stretch very far from one another. This makes it impossible to play the pinky G. Chord changes are a bit more difficult with the normal G, but that is something I can work on. I was wondering whether this will be problematic later on.

BTW, I am trying to stretch these fingers more, but I think it's also a problem with the build of my hand.

# 1
devanski
devanski
05/08/2020 5:01 pm

Hey elanapronk,

G was one of the chords that I knew from a long time ago and when I started the lessons the 'pinky G' was totally alien to me and I had to force myself to use it, as it seemed more logical for some of the chord changes.

In short my pinky was too lazy to bend and reach the bottom at the high E string... but I think if you keep at it, it will start to happen for you. From the 1st string (ring finger) to the E string is not that big a stretch really, it will just take time and practice.

I know I still use 'traditional G' from time to time because it's a hard habit to change ... but I'm getting better the more I force myself to use pinky G.

Best I can offer...

Dev

# 2
AndrewTanner
AndrewTanner
05/08/2020 5:10 pm

I'm a self taught guitarist, have been playing 16 years. I decided to get serious about theory and add some structure to my learning, hence sigining up for the site! What I found from watching the videos is that many of the tricks, such as alternative fingerings I already had taught myself when learning all those years ago. I didn't really pick up many bad habits but when I did I kinda knew they were bad habits so I grew out of them (e.g using my ring finger to fret the 5th and the octave in a power chord).