Verses come, Choruses don't :-/

karldali
karldali
05/03/2020 4:57 pm

Hello GT people!

So i've set myself a task in order to learn what chords live in the main keys.

The task is simple - Write a song in every key! This will encourage and force me to learn what's where (I, II, III etc) and how to change between all the chords whilst keeping it fun.

Thing is, I find that verses come easy but I hit a wall when it comes to writing a chorus. Any tips, ideas or videos with some instruction would be greatly appreciated.

I should also say thats its the lyrics of the chorus that I struggle with, if i could get the words to flow then ill just match the chords to the lyrics (not sure if thats right or wrong but its what i've been doing whilst messing about).

How to get it to be different but remain part of the theme??

I hope this all makes sense, im very new to theory so i've explained it best I can.

Thanks for reading and take care.

# 1
theMolster
theMolster
05/06/2020 12:15 pm

Hi there,

I have had the same sort of problem and came across this tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrcAo0VuL60

I think it's pretty helpful in some ways. Talks about ways to arrange, relative major/minor keys in a pretty simple way.

You can direct message me I think if you like and send me some of your lyrics including the chorus: I'd be interested to see what you mean by struggling.

Hope this helps. I'm quite new to this all to but finding it very interesting.

Cheers,

theMolster

# 2
f1kss22l
f1kss22l
05/07/2020 11:50 am

Thank you theMolster for sharing this video. I have the same issue as the autor and I found your video useful.

# 3
theMolster
theMolster
05/07/2020 5:12 pm
Originally Posted by: f1kss22l

Thank you theMolster for sharing this video. I have the same issue as the autor and I found your video useful.

No worries, glad I could help!

# 4
faith83
Full Access
faith83
Full Access
05/09/2020 2:59 pm

One easy trick is, just step up to the 5th and see what happens.