View post (C chord blues)

View thread

DavesGuitarJourney
DavesGuitarJourney
03/30/2020 11:27 pm

I really found C to be difficult for weeks. As a fellow newbie, I have some advice for what helped me get this one., but definitely listen to Bill MG and watch his video clip and try whatever he suggests any time he answers someone!

So,a combination of several things helped me get it.

1) I adjusted my hand and finger angle. I was trying to fret the chord with my fingers parallel to the frets - you know, 1 finger 1 fret rule and all that. It's a really hard stretch that way and it puts your arm, wrist, and fingers in an awkward place. If you're doing it that way, try to angle your hand a little so that your fingers come across the frets at somewhere between 30 and 45 degrees with your fingertips angled towards the bridge. When I hold the guitar with a C chord fretted, my fingers point back towards my face, but probably about at my left ear instead of full-on face. I guess my fingers actually point almost sttraight up my left arm. If you look at your hand you'll notice that if you have a slight angle then your fingers are able to reach further up the neck because you are able to use the length of the fingers instead of just trying to spread them apart. At first I thought I wasn't supposed to do that, but watch people play and you'll notice that hand and finger angles change constantly.

2) I was not arching my fingers enough, so what they call bad finger posture. Everyone says "play on your fingertips" and I definitely got that and thought I was doing it, but doggone it if my fingers were still too flat. Honestly, I have not heard anyone say "ARCH your fingers" and for me that was the phrase that sunk into my thick skull. I think the angle of your hand and fingers comes into play with this too, actually.