Curtis Loew, Ed's parts?

stevelankford313
Full Access
stevelankford313
Full Access
10/07/2019 5:23 am

Hi Mike, just wondering if you have your Strat on this lesson set up especially for slide guitar, as in high action with 11's or higher. Or do you play with that type set up regularly. Just wondering because i want to add some slide technique into my playing,and on this song i would like to blend some of the octaves, chord progressions and slide together.I'm new to slide and normally play 10's with standard action. But most people say i need at least 11's and higher settings. Am i making sense, Any suggestions, By the the way you've been doin some killer stuff on here! As always thanks my Friend!

# 1
stevelankford313
Full Access
stevelankford313
Full Access
10/08/2019 1:49 am

i'm tryin' to gather info from S. White also. My guitars are just not working for me on the slide parts at this point I'm just feeling like ineed something more dedicated for that style. Maybe as my skill increases i won't feel as hampered by guitar set ups and such. Thanks again Mike!

# 2
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
10/10/2019 3:00 pm

HI Steven!!

The Strat I used for the video was not set up specifically for slide - and that makes it a bit tougher to play clean slide parts.

For sure, having a guitar set up with heavier strings and higher action really does make it easier to play slide, so if you play alot of that style, it's worth having one ready to go if you can!

That said, you can still play slide on a regular guitar setup - but you have to adjust your technique with a lighter touch (with the slide on the strings) to keep the parts crisp and clean. Sometimes you'll hear the slide touch the fretwire if you're downward pressure is too much - just something to watch out for!

Hope this helps!! Keep rockin'!

Mike

Keep rockin!
Mike Olekshy
GT Guitar Coach

# 3
stevelankford313
Full Access
stevelankford313
Full Access
10/11/2019 3:18 am