View post (How to practice)

View thread

newgreyarea
newgreyarea
01/13/2018 9:59 pm

OK, let's try this again.

Skill level. Intermediate. I've been "using" guitars for about 30 years but am self-taught and it was never my main focus. Never learned scales or chord names or anything. Just one of my songwriting tools. If I follow a lesson, I usually do not have any problem executing it given a little practice.

Lessons I've been doing:

Travis Picking (really dig this as I never learned fingerpicking stuff and just got a new Taylor 214CEN. Love nylon strung guitars!)

Scales (Maj, min, Penta, Blues) Could use a little work on transposing but that's more a matter of finishing the lessons. What I know, I can play fairly well up to a certain speed. The pentatonic stuff has been very useful when "jamming" over chords I build up on my looper pedal.

Triads/Inversions - Really dig this as I love finding new ways to get a similar sound.

Double Stops - Love it! Need to memorize the fretboard a bit better to execute and find a way to work with my practice. I know what it's doing, just not how to approach as practice.

Chords - Travis picking made me realize how sloppy my chords are. Some chords I've been fingering incorrectly so I'm unlearning that. I want to be faster and more accurate. I'd also like to know a bit more theory in this dept.

Fretboard Memorization - I was just using printouts but didn't feel that was teaching me as once I fill in one note it's easy to just go down the line and name the rest. I want to be able to look at a fret and know every note across all 6 strings without having to start at the nut! I'm gonna work with the trainer in the ToolBox that I didn't know I had. Hah!