Proper Barre Chord Form?

Deanhorneck
Deanhorneck
12/02/2017 1:58 am

Hey everyone,

I just started playing barre chords and I finally got a finger position where I can get good tone out of every string without muting any, even the minor string when I remove my middle finger. I have only been practicing the E major shaped F chord and the Am shaped B chord. But I have some questions abot my finger placement. Here are some picture

" id="__mcenew" />

So my main question is: is it proper form for my index finger to be so high above the low E string? From what I have seen on this site and YouTube, most players have their index fingertip right on the low E string. But If I lower my index finger I wind up muting the B or high E string. So is what I have good or is it improper and I should try to learn barring with my finger lower?

# 1
Deanhorneck
Deanhorneck
12/03/2017 2:17 am

I am also struggling with muting the A string while barring. Any tips on that will be greatly appreciated.

# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
12/03/2017 3:42 pm

Hey & welcome! Thanks for posting a picture. That's very helpful.

Originally Posted by: Deanhorneck

So my main question is: is it proper form for my index finger to be so high above the low E string? From what I have seen on this site and YouTube, most players have their index fingertip right on the low E string. But If I lower my index finger I wind up muting the B or high E string. So is what I have good or is it improper and I should try to learn barring with my finger lower?

If you can play those chord clean, clearly & efficiently, then it's perfectly fine.

Every individual set of hands is unique. Everyone has to find their own best finger placement depending on the microplacement of the topology of their fingers.