Spider Legs problem

renebk
renebk
09/18/2017 12:32 pm

Hello to all,

I am a beginner and in Lisa's McCormick spider legs excercise I encounter the following problem.

I can spread my fingers fairly far apart when my hand is in a flat position, but as soon as I bend my hand as to grab the neck of the guitar, my middle and index finger join together, so as both tips touch and I cannot cover the full 3 frets.

Is there an excersise to train my fingers to stay apart?

Many thanks,

René

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/18/2017 6:57 pm

Hey & welcome to GT!

Originally Posted by: renebkI can spread my fingers fairly far apart when my hand is in a flat position, but as soon as I bend my hand as to grab the neck of the guitar, my middle and index finger join together, so as both tips touch and I cannot cover the full 3 frets.

Is there an excersise to train my fingers to stay apart?

[p]First you need to make sure you have good position & posture. If you bend your wrist too far to get your fingers around the guitar you will severely curtail any natural strength & dexterity you have in your fretting hand. So make sure you have a slight, natural curve in your wrist.

Next, it can help if you don't try to keep your fingers in place. It's okay & often beneficial to release finger pressure on the lower frets, just enough to reach higher & make that higher fretted note ring properly. Don't completely lift your finger off the strings. Just release the pressure that was necessary to make the note sound. Maintain a little contact, just let the finger rest on the string without pressing it down. Otherwise it's wasted effort to raise your finger until it's completely off the string, only to have to bring it all the way back when you return to that fret.

Make sense?