View post (Major Concern)

View thread

maggior
maggior
04/14/2017 3:31 pm

I've been playing for over 30 years and I still wonder this myself...will I ever be really good...and I say that seriously.

[br]I say that not to discourage you, but to show you that this is a "battle" you will never overcome. You need to change your thinking. The world renowned cellist Pablo Casals was once asked why he was so committed to his practice routine. At the age of 90, his response was something along the lines of "I seem to be making some progress!".

[br]I've read the book John mentions and it is quite worth reading. I need the yearly refersher myself. I've also read a book called "The Inner Game of Music". This book I think is targeted more toward advanced and classically trained players, but there were some nuggets I was able to grab onto...such as the notion of allowing yourself to fail, and you will usually succeed.

[br]I see these guys on youtube too and think wow, they are so great, why do I suck so badly :). It is all relative. Some of these guys are pros...this is what they do for a living! If you work a day job, have a family, etc. you may not have the time they do to dedicate to playing. It's an unfair to compare yourself to them. It is also disrespectful toward them to expect that you, after a short amount of time, should be able to play like them. I don't say that to be harsh, not at all...just to show some prespective. These are things I take comfort in to help me accept where I am at.

[br]The only person to compare yourself against it you! Something that is helpful is to record yourself playing solo or over backing tracks. These can give you totally unbiased mileposts of your progress. Often, on playback you will sound better than you think you do. You may also realize that you are focusing on the wrong things. Perhaps your are playing notes cleanly, but the timing could use some work...or vice versa.