Old Codger learning Guitar.

billmccallart
billmccallart
03/06/2017 10:20 pm

Hi I am Bill Mc Call. I am 77 and I want to play the guitar properly. I have played around with it for 60 years. I can play all the usual chords etc but as I play at accoustic nights in the local pubs to accompany my singing I need to learn fingerstyle . Some years ago I sang in the working mens clubs onstage. I am also an artist. I visited America and took an art instructors course. I had my own studio for several years and took in students but now I paint for my own pleasure. I have been very impressed with the lessons particularly how to play scales which is made so simple by Lisa. I have a house full of guitars . I love them all. I have dabbled with other instruments and also have a keyboard and clarinet. I sold my saxaphones. Don't know what I would do without music.

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
03/07/2017 12:06 am

Hey Bill! Thanks for being a member of the Guitar Tricks community. Seems like you've got some practice, and may need some help with fingerstyle. Here's a Travis Picking style tutorial you can try:

https://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=1774

If that doesn't work, you can always use the search button on the top right of the page and enter "travis picking simplified." After you search, it should be the first result!

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
Joe105
Joe105
03/07/2017 10:10 am

Hi Bill and a warm welcome to you.

I know where you're coming from. I'm 72.

I played bass guitar in my youth and played in many bands. I was good at it and it brought me great satisfaction. I then went over to tenor saxophone and also played clarinet. I own a Technics electric organ that I dabble with and I also learnt to play the flute.

Now it's guitar time and I'm starting from scratch again and greatly enjoying it. This is an excellent course.

Like you, I don't know where I'd be without music.