Buying an electric guitar - where to start?

ajustinbryant
ajustinbryant
02/23/2016 7:23 pm
Hi all, I'm working my way through the lessons and really enjoying the site.

I've never wanted to buy an electric guitar, but, working through the blues and country lessons has got me kind of interested, to my surprise! Also, I feel I can't make a lot of progress in those styles, as a good chunk of the lessons (especially country) are electric-based.

My question is this: What would be a good intro electric guitar/amp? How would I know where to start? How much should I think of spending?

For comparison (if this is helpful), I spent about $350 on my acoustic Seagull guitar and I love it's sound, and have no plan to upgrade anytime this decade.

I hope this question is not too general to answer. Thanks!
# 1
Papa Rich
Papa Rich
02/24/2016 5:28 pm
Hi,

Good questions! I have been playing for about two years and started with an acoustic. I now have a Seagull Original 6 that I paid $429. I can't see me ever changing that out. I started with an Epiphone SG 400 Pro and I really liked it. I think it was about $345, probably cheaper now. I sold that after I started actually playing music and got a Fender Strat American Standard. That's about $1300. You don't need to spend that much. You can get a great Epiphone or a Mexican Strat. The Epis can go for about $300 or more. I wouldn't get cheaper. The Strat Mex starts at $500. If you can swing $500, get the Strat. Very versatile but you can't go wrong with either. With the Strat, as you get better, you can always switch out to better pickups.
# 2
GT Staff
Administrator
GT Staff
Administrator
02/24/2016 8:45 pm
Originally Posted by: ajustinbryantHi all, I'm working my way through the lessons and really enjoying the site.