The House of the Rising Sun Lesson

tonyd79
Full Access
tonyd79
Full Access
01/17/2016 5:25 pm
Mike-

Hello! Thanks for the great lesson on House of the Rising Sun. When I started playing four plus years ago I was not able to arpeggiate the chords correctly but your lessons showed me how. I may not be perfect doing it and may slip a few times during the course of the song but now have this skill set I did not have when started playing.

Two questions come to mind.
1. When you're arpeggiating the chords it looks like your more less "gliding" over the strings on the way down towards the high e string. It looks more like picking the strings on the way backup, am I correct?? The tempo is too quick to individually pick that 16th note on the way down?

2. When playing the dynamic verse portions of the song, are you toning down the volume because the strumming greatly increases the volume and may take over another musician performing alongside you? Seems to be big volume differences between the arpeggiated chords and the ones strummed for the dynamic climax.

Just want some clarification on the above. I plan on playing this one at one of our Saturday night guitar Meetups in Philadelphia. I will play this on my Fender Strat with a friend singing/playing the acoustic and a backing track I found that only includes a bass, drums and keyboards.

Look forward to your response.

Thanks!

Tony
# 1
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
01/17/2016 6:41 pm
Hey Tony! Great questions...

1. Yes I am doing more of a rake for those quicker arpeggiations that go up the strings, just because I find it's easier and smoother sounding for me than picking each note at that tempo. However, I encourage you to experiment and see what picking approach works best for you. You may find you can comfortably pick each note going up the strings at that tempo, and if so, go for it!