Words of wisdom

pickin4life
pickin4life
05/30/2002 4:37 am
Ive been playing guitar for about six months. I dont take lessons or anything I just learned really from watching people and learning basic chords like G,C,D,E,and A. Thats really all anyone ever taught me. The rest I just picked up by watching other people and playing around 4 to 6 hours a day. Im trying to put a band together. Could anyone give me some advice on how to learn songs faster cause mainly I just read tabs and listen to the song. But tabs are usually wrong. Everyonce in awhile u find a good one. Well any other words of advice are welcomed and I thank you very much for all ur help. Thanx guys. ROCK ON!!!!!!!!!!!
# 1
BlackBox
BlackBox
05/30/2002 1:49 pm
hmm, well I found it really hard to learn without a teacher. I played guitar for 2 years by myself. I got absolutly nowhere, when I was trying to do what your doing. Now I have a great teacher who I can bring the cd in and he'll pretty much show me how to play it, WITHOUT TAB! I find that insanly cool. But anyways If I were you, I would (1)find a teacher (2)Get good (3) make a band.

I have a band now that is pretty much in the making. We all are pretty much new to the musicain world and the bassist doesn't even have a bass, lol. But ya, I would totally recommend getting good before you try and make a band. It just doesn't work when all the band members totally suck, lol.
Rock on.
# 2
pickin4life
pickin4life
05/30/2002 5:50 pm
How far did u get without a teacher. I mean im pretty far. I want to take lessons I just dont wanna have to go through learning theory again cause I learned it at school.
# 3
lalimacefolle
lalimacefolle
05/30/2002 8:08 pm
If your teacher is a smart guy, he'll take you where you want to go, not where he thinks you should go.
A teacher is one who has walked the path once, so he can SHOW what's next, it's YOUR call to say if you want to go there or not.