What happened to the guitarists

Shlag
Shlag
07/08/2000 7:05 am
Hey, I just want to say that I wished I was playing in the eighties. I say that becuase there were alot of good 80's bands and good guitarists that new how to put a song together and not just powerchord through the whole song. That's why I started a band that would kinda be coming from that style. I really like soloing becuase you can make the song sound just the way it should be and not just boring like the METAL these days. Hey I just say this becuase my previous band I was in just wanted a deep crunch and I got really bored, and I just started playing the fasted solo I could come up with and they would disagree. Hey there are other frets on that board, you gotta use them sooner or later.
# 1
AtomicMassUnit
AtomicMassUnit
07/08/2000 8:04 am
too bad people don't play like mick mars anymore. you have to admit, it's hard to be a good musician and a good guitarist at the same time. there's always going to be a balance of good music and crap, and i agree that todays metal is awful with few if any exceptions, but the good players are in other styles now. i'm studying country lead and suprisingly most country lead players can burn most metal lead players into the ground. just listen to one of the teachers here, terry couch. too bad there aren't more people that good in other styles. also, it's harder to play slow than fast anyway. how many people do you know who can accurately play david gilmour's solos from pink floyd compared to pantera licks?

Atomic
# 2
BadHorsie
BadHorsie
07/12/2000 2:49 am