Songwriting material - what have you used?

Sandie Nielsen
Sandie Nielsen
04/29/2013 8:31 am
Hello everyone!

Since i really like the topic of songwriting, i was wondering what kind of books, videos, lessons etc. you have used in your journey to songwriting??

I studied at a musicacademy fulltime for one and a half year, and there we had songwriting twice a week two hours, that really helped a lot, showed me the "classical" way to do it. I dont use that all the time by far, but very useful to know, and it opened up the universe of songwriting for me!

I also bought a book called :
Chrash Course Songwriting
By: Chris Bradford

I found that very helpful, and still do, there are a lot of good tips in there!

Well, and then to listen to the songs that i find very inspiring, and break them down, figure out the chordstructure, the intervals they use, how they create the mood!

looking forward to hear some of your choices!!
# 1
Elliott Jeffries
Elliott Jeffries
04/29/2013 1:36 pm
I've never used a method because my ideas just seem to form on their own. I have done melody writing exercises with chord formulas, writing down random patterns of the I, ii, iii , IV and etc's and coming up with lots of wonderful sounds. I suggest this exercise for anyone interested in learning how to compose.
# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/01/2013 10:58 pm
I haven't used any tool or formally tried to learn. I use my ears.

I mean, I listen to songs just to enjoy them but other times my head breaks in to a stream of consciousness 'why does this song work' deal. I think because at one point I had to relate to people about what made a CD great and communicate such things, my head and ear just adjusted to breaking it down a bit.

It's a marriage of things that make a great song but the only key is that it communicates something to feel. that's something you can't learn in as much as develop how to communicate a feeling.