how good were you, again...

Jimmy Page XVI
Jimmy Page XVI
03/24/2002 8:07 pm
I have seen an earlier post about how good were you when you were 16 years old. Now I want to take that post a bit further and ask how good were you when you had about one to two years of experience since starting to play the guitar? I think this post will allow more people to post their thoughts. Therefore, I am interested more a less at what type of genre where you playing, what songs did you play, what theory were you learning or had you learned, etc. Post anything you feel like posting here...
# 1
TheElectricSnep
TheElectricSnep
03/24/2002 8:34 pm
When I was 16 i had been playing for 2 years. (I'm now nearly 19 if your wondering....) I was obsessed with metal and spent hours taking Metallica songs to pieces. My friend who taught me also had me onto the past-masters like Led Zep and Hendrix so I had some of that style as well....although i didnt really appreciate how valuable things like the blues were until later....once you've got the blues scales and learned how to improvise them I simply applied them when learning metal songs and found i could play in a much more compact and fluent way. What I do now is largely the same style but a lot of my repetoir comes from Rush who i discovered a little later on and got hooked on.

How good was I? Good enough for a band but nothing special. How good am I now: I only ever play to myself so i couldnt really say....

What songs do I play...ummm, ok here goes:

Metallica: Slither; Ride the Lightening, Disposable Heros; Helpless (a diamond head cover); Unforgiven; My Friend of Misery; Carpe Diem Baby; Where the Wild things are; Bleeding me; The 4 Horsemen.

Zeppelin: Whole lotta love; Dazed and confused; Stairway to heaven; Black Dog.

Deep Purple: Perfect Strangers; Stormbringer; Child in Time, Emmeretta; Black Night; Strange Kinda Woman