Slightly handicaped

Strataron
Strataron
05/29/2010 1:46 pm
I'm new to this site, and want to start by asking for a little feedback. I am a beginner (two months) and I find myself frustrated because I'm missing my first digit to but not including my first joint on my left ring finger. I have difficulty being able to hold down just one string. it sort of touches another string (finger to fat)? I have a prostetic on the way friday of next week. Maybe im just looking for a little encouragement. I hope I can still learn to play. To much invested already. All comments are greatly welcome.
# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/29/2010 2:38 pm
Originally Posted by: StrataronI'm new to this site, and want to start by asking for a little feedback. I am a beginner (two months) and I find myself frustrated because I'm missing my first digit to but not including my first joint on my left ring finger. I have difficulty being able to hold down just one string. it sort of touches another string (finger to fat)? I have a prostetic on the way friday of next week. Maybe im just looking for a little encouragement. I hope I can still learn to play. To much invested already. All comments are greatly welcome.

This may help:
http://www.redhotjazz.com/django.html

...and for your viewing pleasure:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-iJ7bs4mTUY

Django overcame quite a lot and became a legend. I mean, you know, we won't all be legends but I think it's it's encouraging for all players when you see someone become so great despite having an obstacle.

Good luck and I have no doubt that if you love to play and enjoy learning, you will find ways to make it work.
# 2
Strataron
Strataron
05/30/2010 1:39 pm
Thanks. I needed a little encouagement.
# 3
kuykjp
kuykjp
05/30/2010 7:07 pm