learning to play with others

TylerW1
TylerW1
05/23/2010 4:26 am
Hello i have been playing guitar for about 4 years now and iv taken lessons ive tried to self teach and nothing seems to work or atleast not fast enough. i wanna get back to the basics but im a fast learner because i never learned them :) .... so after i would learn the basics i wanted to know if anyone knows if there are any lessons on this site that teaches you how to play along with other players and band mates?
# 1
kuykjp
kuykjp
05/30/2010 6:50 pm
Hi Tyler, when I was learning, I used to try to play along with records. It's actually much easier now with ipods you can fast forward or reverse etc. Is this what you're talking about? Is it just a "keeping in time" issue you want to work on? The core learning area seems pretty good for the basics.
# 2
hunter1801
hunter1801
05/30/2010 9:57 pm
The only way you are going to get better at playing with other people is to actually play with other people
# 3
Jarsew
Jarsew
06/02/2010 6:36 pm
Knowing theory would probably be the ultimate and obvious answer; since its essentially the language of music, so if you know how to speak it the better you will do with others.

Yet that is the problem, no matter how much you may know theory, if the people your playing with dont know theory than it probably wont help ya much in terms of communicating.

So which comes to this point: Everyones skill level/music knowledge is going to be different, sometimes vastly different. Same with their music influences. You pretty much have to just jam with as many people/bands as possible until you find the certain somebody or the certain group of people that you "click" with the best, wherever there is that chemistry.