Becoming A Solo Artist

Snake_Eater
Snake_Eater
04/16/2010 3:16 pm
Im a guitarist for my band....and I write riffs for our songs all the time. I hear everything in my head, the drums, bass and the vocals, but i cant tell them to do something on their intrument for they all want to contribute on their own, which aint bad. But I have all theese ideas in my head that are pretty soft and soulfull, but our band is a metal one and they one to stick to metal material which i like too. But I want to be like Buckethead. I just want to Know the road of becoming a solo-artist. is it tougher?longer?is it worth leaving my band to become one? Is anyone here a solo-artist? please i want to hear some feedback.
# 1
RockHudson
RockHudson
04/19/2010 8:53 pm
Why don't you try and influence your current band members . . . And (gently) push them in the direction you want to go?

One of the best ways of doing this is to invest in some home-recording equipment and take demos of your ideas to rehearsals . . . You'll find that the musicians will use your ideas as their starting point and will probably be able to improve on them!
All the best
Simon Harris
www.advancedguitarplayer.com
# 2
hunter1801
hunter1801
04/19/2010 11:48 pm
Changing a bands type of music is a huge deal. If these guys are into being a metal band and you aren't, then you should consider leaving, not changing them. If they are up for it sure, but most likely they wont be. Being a solo artist is definitely hard. You almost need to be a virtuoso to make it now since the bar is so high. How good are you really?
# 3
Snake_Eater
Snake_Eater
04/20/2010 3:13 pm