View post (Can someone please help a newbie to recording?)

View thread

JeffS65
JeffS65
04/02/2010 3:09 am
Originally Posted by: oldtimer70I'm thinking about recording myself at home. My question is, if I use a program like cakewalk or reaper [U]do I need an interface also?[/U] I've looked into the various programs but I'm confused. I have no knowledge of computing or this recording thing. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

The answer is yes.

Think of it this way, you need four things to record:

1) In instrument (the easy part...)
2) A way to record it (the program such as reaper)
3) A way to convert it from your playing in the computer
4) A way to make/capture noise (optional depending on what you record).

So, instrument; check. Recording program, check....even if you don't have it now you know you need it. So.....

You do need an interface no matter what. No matter if it's an electric guitar or acoustic. something has to convert your playing in to the little digital bits that store in your computer. You may need something like this. The type of interface you need may vary from these but it gives you an idea that you essentially need a 'music to computer' converter box.

So, the 'A way to make/capture noise....' part. Ok, so it's not so much a matter of otional but....Well....are you playing acoustic? Do you want to record your amp if electric is your deal? The the way to capture this is to get a mic that can connect to the converter box.

That may be all you need.