Recording software

chet wisner
chet wisner
11/25/2009 6:55 am
I'm wanting to record solo acoustic and voice via the computer, without having to purchase expensive mixers. Nothing fancy, but would like to have some quality, then simply upload to YouTube.

I have currently a cheap mic that does well enough I think.

Can you recommend any free software?

thank you all,

chet
# 1
chrisweyers
chrisweyers
11/25/2009 8:55 am
I think Audacity may be free. But I've been using Reaper's free 30-day trial for about 2 months now, lol.
# 2
chet wisner
chet wisner
11/25/2009 8:31 pm
Thanks Chris. I do have audacity, but I'm darned if I know what to do with it. What I do is I make my video of my singing and playing, but with the cheap mic and cam I have, the quality isn't that great. One thing is the video, it's a bit out of sync as to the audio and video. My mic is Dynex DX54 and cam is logitech.

Anyhow, what am I supposed to be able to do with Audacity? Lame questions I know, but I appreciate any help.
# 3
chrisweyers
chrisweyers
11/25/2009 11:33 pm
Well, I've never actually used Audacity, myself, so I'm not sure I can help you too much. But for something like a simple youtube video, you should be able to do what you need with just your video editing software. But if you're really going for a professional look and sound, you may want more. Here's what I would try: