Prefer the Upstroke?

EPISODER
EPISODER
02/08/2009 11:22 pm
Hey, I've been playing guitar for about 3 years now, and I'm always looking to improve my playing. I noticed the other day that the way I hold my pick, makes me prefer to start out on upstrokes rather than downstrokes. I actually flat-pick with all upstrokes.

Is this a bad thing? I am a lefty who plays a right-handed Epiphone SG. (If that matters, lol)

Anyway... Most of my buddies (and pretty much everyone else I see play) play with downstrokes.

Is there an advantage to this, or is it just different?

Thanks in advance!

-Andrew
[FONT=Fixedsys]A tout le monde, A tout mes amis, Je vous aime, Je dois partir. These are the last words I'll ever speak, and they'll set me free![/FONT] ;)
# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
02/09/2009 2:33 pm
Originally Posted by: EPISODERI noticed the other day that the way I hold my pick, makes me prefer to start out on upstrokes rather than downstrokes.

Exactly how do you hold your pick? How would you say it is different than your buddies that play with downstrokes?

Using all upstrokes or all downstrokes is inefficient. It can be useful if you are trying to achieve a certain sound, but in the long run it is best to learn alternate picking (alternating up and down strokes). You can still use upstrokes when you desire that particular effect or when the music is moving slow enough that you can get from one note or chord to the next in time. But if you are serious about improving your skill you will need to practice and achieve a certain competence at alternate picking.

Hope this helps. Happy learning and playing. :)
Christopher Schlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor

Christopher Schlegel Lesson Directory
# 2
EPISODER
EPISODER
02/09/2009 4:19 pm
I hold my pick out at about a 45 degree angle (towards the neck of the guitar)

I realize now that pretty much everyone holds their pick perpundicular to their thumb.

Thumb
_____
|