Creating Original Backing Tracks

Expatjohn
Full Access
Expatjohn
Full Access
08/02/2008 2:42 pm
I've been tooling around guitar for a couple of years and one of favorite ways to learn more is to groove to the backing tracks provided here and on other sites around the web.
However, I have musical background although it was dormant for about 20 years until I stumbled onto guitar in 2006. I have since found there are still some good ideas bubbling around in this old brain of mine and I want to create my own backing tracks. :rolleyes: I've been researching the how-tos of this on the Net and want to solicit opinions from the group.

Here's my situation: I do not have a home studio, nor do I have access to the various instruments required to lay down a full-blown backing track. My options are pretty limited to software. Of course, the gotcha with software - as far as I've seen - is that you start in MIDI, a format which sounds, well, awful.
I've dug up several packages, such as Finale Allegro (http://www.finalemusic.com/Allegro/default.aspx) and Silbeus, among others. Finale has several packages on the market, but Allegro seems to be a good fit for what I need. Finale and Silbeus are a bit costly, but it sounds like their playback is strong - they really clean up the MIDI element to the point where it sounds real. The others I've looked at (Noteworthy - http://www.noteworthysoftware.com/; Mozart - http://www.mozart.co.uk/) are cheaper but they are also pretty much prisoners of their robotic, canned MIDI universe. You get what you pay for, I guess.

So, questions to the group - what's been your experience? How do you handle this? What do you guys do when you want to create an original backing track, but can't get to the studio/can't shell out $4,000 for a home mixer, equipment, etc.?
Let me add one more layer to this - what do you do when you want to create backing tracks for private use of existing songs, but don't want to go the MIDI route?