Playing out?

Nekhabet
Nekhabet
07/03/2008 12:04 am
Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner who has suddenly been struck with the urge to play out when I am able.

Right now, I am still working on the typical beginner stuff but was wondering: is there anything that I should look at/concentrate on (in addition to my current level of guitar/music theory) if I want to play for others in small settings or possibly in a band.

I'm not looking to be a rockstar -- I just want to have fun playing and play with others who are having fun playing. :)

Thanks,
Nek.
Patience and practice leads the way.
# 1
leaf
leaf
07/03/2008 8:58 pm
Well, I started by playing music like crazy. I took every chance I could to play music. Also, If you play lots of covers (Songs other bands wrote) you will get sorta your own understanding of music theory. When I first started to write songs I was really bad and got discouraged a lot but I didn't stop so thats really what kept me going. Every one starts were you are now but not everyone is crazy about music. so, just as long as you keep telling yourself that you rock, keep playing to yourself, friends and family, and don't give up you WILL be really good. The big thing is not to listen to the people that are just mean and think what you want to think about yourself. About playing shows, I always just find a store or something and talk to them on the phone about it or go there to talk about it. If you are positive about your music you will most likely to be booked there (Well,... you have to know what your doing too :D ).
Eat, sleep, and play guitar! :D
Click here to hear my music :)
# 2
Nekhabet
Nekhabet
07/03/2008 10:46 pm
Thanks leaf,

That's good advice. I think I'll start to pull together a list of songs that I would like to learn. Maybe a song from each style in order to take a tour of what's out there and the different techniques.

I agree with what you said about staying positive -- it's easy to start to get negative.

Thanks again,
Nek.
# 3
leaf