Mixing metal songs

Hjorvard
Hjorvard
05/09/2008 7:52 am
Okay given these two programs, cooledit pro or audition, I am looking for decent tips as far as EQing and mixing goes. I am fairly new to recording and mixing, and I'd like some good tips/advice. Also on a completely unrelated topic, as a metal guitarist, can I have some advice on decent amps, pedals, and guitar pods? Thanks guys.
# 1

05/09/2008 11:28 am
Hello Hjorvard,

I've tried many different pedal effect over the years and now I'm really enjoying the Lin6 Spider amps with the built-in effects.

I had never tried the POD but I guess they use the same effects in the Spider. I've been able to tune in some great metal toens from it.

As far as recording goes, the tricky part with recording and mixing metal is that we use a lot of distortion so it's easy to have one big mess while mixing.

The best results I've got over the years was to use panning a lot and to use 2 different effects for my rhythm guitars. By that I mean I often double my rhythm tracks and pan them but I'll never use the same effect for guitar 1 as I will for guitar 2. This makes a huge difference.

I also use a completely different effect for lead and again if I use multiple guitar tracks for lead I'll modify each of them a little so they aren't using the exact same effects.
# 2
light487
Forum Administrator
light487
Forum Administrator
05/09/2008 11:34 am
I find that "modulation" type effects tend to separate a track more easily. Like a basic chorus effect or a wah will make an instrument stand out from the rest of the mix, even when everything is the same level.. not that everything should or has to be the same level in the end. There are some great effects around these days and it doesn't hurt to spice things up a little unless you are going for more traditional sounds..
light487
Guitar Tricks Moderator

GuitarTricks
Daily Light Blog
# 3
Superhuman
Superhuman
05/09/2008 7:25 pm