Hello all - noob here.

fredhe12
Noob Hack
fredhe12
Noob Hack
01/28/2008 5:50 pm
Hello all,

Just started on this site last week with the full membership and I've made more progress in that short time than ever before.

I've wanted to learn how play guitar for over 20 years, and I've finally committed to actually doing it.

My son who is 8, is going to start lessons this week, so I thought it would be a cool father-son deal to learn at the same time. He's got time for lessons, I don't, so this site is perfect for my schedule.

I'm also looking for my first guitar. I bought my son a Fender Squire and I've been using his for now, but I need my own I think. I'm looking at getting my own Strat, probably something used to start out with. If anyone knows any good websites for used Strats, let me know.

Okay, that's enough about me for now. My fingertips are killing me from all the practice :D and I can't type anymore.

fred
# 1
ren
ren
01/29/2008 11:39 am
Hi Fred... welcome to GT :)

On guitars - it could be worth checking out pawn shops and the like, so you can see and play what you are thinking of buying. I've also purchased a lot through ebay, but you may need to do a little tweaking to get a guitar set up right. If you're comfortable having a try, ebay could work for you.

I started playing when I was 8 as well, so hopefully your son is beginning on the same very rewarding road. Hopefully you can teach each other a few things too. Happy you found this place man - feel free to ask us any questions as you go, and we'll do our best to answer them...

Check out my music, video, lessons & backing tracks here![br]https://www.renhimself.com

# 2
DavidCDye
DavidCDye
01/29/2008 12:19 pm
Hello!!I,m actually A Vetran Guitar, Banjo player myself. I also am new to this online lesson thing!!WOW!!!This is great I know how you feel. I,m actually learnining thing I would have never learnt.