View post (Sweet jesus)

View thread

Drew77
Drew77
05/29/2007 2:37 pm
I'm going to lean towards what Damaged said... if you look at this site http://www.monsterpig.com/ the size of the hog seems pretty inconsistent and the by seems rather small compared to his surroundings in the one on the first page of this thread. One of the pictures on the site everyone is clearly standing quite a ways behind the hog, perhaps trying to play that old camera trick to make it seem very large comparatively, however it is clear they are back a ways. In the one where it's hanging in again seems to change size in porportion to the boy and people in general and the hog and what appears to be a backhoe holding seem very flat as if they where cut out (either of the same picture and resized or out of another picture entirely). Anyway, thats my photo analysis, I'm studying digital design in college so Im around this stuff a lot (not that anyone cares but it may give me a slight bit of credibility?).

But really who cares if its real or not, i don't I'd rather it be real cause that be pretty cool that a hog could get that big.

As for the morality of killing it. Animals that get that large are generally very old and very unhealthy and likely in constant pain anyways, similar to the way giant people tend to be naturally unhealthy and have lots of problems in general. However I have a problem with turning it into sausage, why not taxidermy the whole thing, I guess that might be expensive but still Im sure a museum would take it and pay for it. Thats another reason why I would doubt the story, Im sure the kid shot a fairly large boar and they just told a fish story.

Anyway, the argument that hunting keeps animal populations in check does not apply in this instance since it was on a hunting preserve and no eco system was going to unbalanced by an over population within the fences.