Help On Downpicking!

ravenx495
ravenx495
04/03/2007 12:34 am
I'm preparing for a talent show coming up, and I'm planning on playing "Master of Puppets" by Metallica. I've been practicing the hell out of this song for months, but I can't seem to get the down picking right, cause at the end of the song it seems I'm just worn out and my timing gets sloppy.

Does anyone got some drills for right-hand endurance I can use to get this thing nailed? :confused:
Like a phoenix rising from the flames...

...so shall the epic journey unfold as we discover our ancient future and craft legends through fire and flight.

This is a night of trance...
# 1

04/03/2007 1:05 am
I'm no expert in muscle training but stamina to my knowledge can only be gained from working out.

So ... I would suggest that you come up with a simple rhythm section with powerchords maybe use the verse section of master. Then you get a metronome and play it over and over again. Do something like 8 repetitions at a certain speed (not your max speed) then turn up the speed a little, do another 8, then faster, then faster, then faster, until you start loosing your timing. Once you've hit that speed take it down again the same way to you first speed. Then go back again.

It's a principle used in many sports to gain stamina, you'll have better results making some type of uphill/downhill drill then constant tempo.
# 2

04/03/2007 1:08 am
If you can, try to work on making your top speed higher than the tempo of the song. That way, when you start being comfortable at higher speed, it's going to be easier to play it at normal speed and hopefully will help you with your muscle fatigue.

Naturally you wanna sound good and accurate at that top speed ;) so take it slow.
# 3
elklandercc
Full Access
elklandercc
Full Access
04/03/2007 1:55 am