Gettin' giggy with it

jiujitsu_jesus
jiujitsu_jesus
03/19/2007 1:14 am
Well, in my year and a half as a guitarist, I have never played a gig - but that is finally about to change! My teacher and I are going to play a little nylon-stringed set at a nearby conservatorium of the arts of some repute (well... the local pub :D). We'll be doing European minor-key folk sort of stuff, a folky instrumental cover of Metallica's "The Unforgiven", perhaps Ali Farka Toure's "Diaraby", maybe a Tull number... ought to be a great palate cleanser after working on metal for so long. And I'm also joining a guitar ensemble at uni, which ought to be cool.

So I'm rather excited - any first-gig tips, or pub-gig tips?

And also, a question - anyone heard of a song/piece called "Conquest of the Realm"? It's one of the songs my teacher showed me that we're to play at the gig, but I didn't ask whether it was an original or a cover...
"It's all folk music... I ain't never heard no horse sing!"
- Attributed variously to Leadbelly and Louis Armstrong

If at first you don't succeed, you are obviously not Chuck Norris.

l337iZmz r@wk o.K!!!??>
# 1
grizzlymint
grizzlymint
03/19/2007 1:49 am
Good luck man. Congrats. In my 2 years of playing, I've yet to land a gig, but haven't pushed for one either. I figure thats something I'd let fall into my lap rather than push.

Finger pickin eh? Out of my league. Wish you the best and may there be many more.
Let your soul shine. Its better than sunshine. Its better than moonshine. Damn sure better than rain.
# 2
Bar Chord Nick
Full Access
Bar Chord Nick
Full Access
03/19/2007 2:07 am
Congrats and good luck. Best tip I can give. If the beers are free, don't start pounding them till your done playing... :D
# 3
grizzlymint
grizzlymint
03/19/2007 2:48 am
Originally Posted by: Bar Chord NickCongrats and good luck. Best tip I can give. If the beers are free, don't start pounding them till your done playing... :D