I want a new guitar......Help me Guys

milkybardave
milkybardave
07/04/2000 10:12 pm
I'm not looking for cash donations, but I'll gladly accept checks! Hehe

At the moment I play a budget (very, very cheap) fender copy. But I have been a good boy this year and managed to save some cash and I want a REAL strat.

Now as I'm only a beginner, and guitar shops are big scary places, with every assistant an excellent guitar player. What do I do???

I am not confident enough to pick up a guitar in the midddle of the shop and blast into a ten minute solo (as if I could anyhow)
Do I ask the guy behind the counter to give me a demo??

Is there anything I should/shouldn't do??

I know you guys are real helpful and will give me sound advice (I've followed previous advice on here and its helped my guitar playing immensley)

Thanking you in advance

Take it Eazy

Dave

[This message has been edited by BadHorsie (edited 07-04-2000).]
# 1
zepo
zepo
07/05/2000 12:07 am
I had the same problem when i was setting out in the beginning thankfully I had friends that knew their guitars and told me which ones to get (I ended up with a dean and haven't strayed from deans since, awesome guitars). Dave you could just ask a assistant or the owner what kind of guitar you should get to suit your needs.....most people will help you out in figuring out what you need. Hope you get a good one.
"I need a girl who's as hot as my guitar."
# 2
BadHorsie
BadHorsie
07/05/2000 2:44 am
One question: Do you have a guitar center that you could buy your guitar from? If yes, then I can give you some pointers. Also, don't be intimitated by the people that work at the stores. Most are just beginners like you or just amateurs. Trust me, when I first started playing I used to think the same thing.

------------------
I'm off like a herd of turtles in the moonlight!
Ain't nothin' but a Gear thang, baby!
# 3
AtomicMassUnit
AtomicMassUnit
07/05/2000 8:14 pm