Drop-B tuning on a 6-string

jiujitsu_jesus
jiujitsu_jesus
12/04/2006 10:10 pm
I've been wanting to learn some Deftones and Machine Head riffs in drop-B tuning, but I've never tried tuning my guitar below D before. I know that Stef Carpenter from the Deftones uses a seven string, and I think the Machine Head guys use 6-strings with really heavy string gauges. However, I have only a 6-string with an average string gauge. Do you think it would be "safe" (for want of a better word) for me to tune down to B?
"It's all folk music... I ain't never heard no horse sing!"
- Attributed variously to Leadbelly and Louis Armstrong

If at first you don't succeed, you are obviously not Chuck Norris.

l337iZmz r@wk o.K!!!??>
# 1
rockonn91
rockonn91
12/05/2006 7:57 pm
nah, not such a great idea unless you get your entire guitar set up for it. tuning that low with a normal string gauge and truss rod alignment for normal tuning would just mess your guitar up.

...plus it would sound like you're playing rubber bands, not strings.
JK :cool:

-Agile Guitars Enthusiast
# 2
aschleman
aschleman
12/05/2006 9:40 pm
Most guitarists that record anythign below drop D tuning use something called a baritone 6 string... It's a guitar with a longer scale than a regular 6 string... It allows you to use higher gauge strings and to tune them lower.

Drop B tuning witha standard 6 string would require A LOT of tweeking of your guitar... So I personally wouldn't recommend it unless you get a guitar that you can just keep in drop B tuning all the time.
# 3
elklandercc
Full Access
elklandercc
Full Access
12/05/2006 11:22 pm
My Own Summer by deftones is in Drop Db tuning, so thats one song out of the way :) .