Need to get ahold of my Right hand

donf
donf
09/18/2006 7:15 pm
Though I've been playing for 10+ years, I still have a problem with the right hand. I can be very sloppy and sometimes. I feel lost in relation to the strings. Some people I talk to brush their pinky along the pickguard. Others have their pinky gripping Underneath the high E string, others have the palm resting on the bridge and some have it above the strings, not touching anything at all. I've tried all the different styles, but i can't seem to be confident that I'm going to hit the correct string when I go into a solo.

I've been practicing slow, using a metronome, watching my right hand, holding the pick, go thru the string til it ends up halfway between the string I just hit and the next one below it. Trying to get the most efficiency from it. When I try a little faster, inevitably I'll hit an errant string.

It's little frustrating, but I'll keep working on it. But I've also been doing it a while now.

Any other suggestion for me to try. :cool:
Occupation: Department Director for the Department of Redundancy Department
# 1
ren
ren
09/19/2006 8:05 am
A few suggestions:

Don't worry about getting your pick to halfway between strings before you change direction, just make sure you've hit the string, then start heading back.

On the pick - make sure you hold it at an angle to the strings. Mine is probably about 45 degrees, but experiement on what feels right for you - you can pick faster with it angled. Also, make sure you have a minimal amount out past your fingers so you don't get caught up in the strings.

String skip. If you're doing spider exercise 1234,1234,1234 type exercises, do the same thing but miss a string, or maybe miss two, or three or whatever. It'll help you locate the strings when you're not just moving between adjacent ones. Arpeggiating chords might help with this one too.