View post (interesting sweeping arpegios)

View thread

axemaster911
axemaster911
09/21/2006 1:50 am
Originally Posted by: SuperhumanHere's a previous post I did on getting awa from stock arpeggio patterns:

----------------------------------

When you are sweeping arpeggios there are a few different ways to approach each arp, try the following exercise and see which arpeggio within it works best for you. They all involve the same notes but are played on different frets. I've started practicing them all because I was stuck doing the same shape all of the time and I found some of these worked better is certain situations.

I'm no expert on theory so if anyone knows better, please correct me!

This is an exercise I put together to help me tackle 2 and 3 octave arpeggio sweeps in various positions all in the same key. There are probably a few more shapes that I missed but this is a great one to practice fluidity and it's helping me to know my way around the fretboard.

h = hammer on
p = pull off
s = slide
t = tap (hammer) with the right hand

(PS as each arp ends it starts the next 1 off)

E----------------7-------------------------7
B--------------7--7----------------------7--7
G---------4-h7-----7-p4---------------7-----7
D-------4---------------4-----------9--------9
A-----5-------------------5-------9------------9
E---7-----------------------7-h10---------------10-p9

E--------------------------------------------------
B-------------------12-------------------------------------
G----------------11---11--------------------------11-h16-p11
D----------9-h12--------12-p9---------------9-h12------------12
A--------9---------------------9-----------9--------------------14
E--7-h10------------------------10-p7-h10-----------------------14-10

E--------------------------------------------------14-h19-14
B--------------7-h12-p7-------------------------15----------15
G------------7----------7---------------------16---------------16-----