View post (Alice in chains is better than nirvana)

View thread

Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
08/08/2006 4:43 pm
Originally Posted by: acapellaYou know what I think? That most of you don't want to like Nirvana because everybody likes Nirvana. I know because I feel the same way. Nirvana is super-hyped and all manner of idiots claim to like it, and this sickens and apalls me. But as much as I wish I liked something more underground, the fact is Nirvana is irresistible because they are so great. Most bands get boring really fast, and/or you have to try to like them. I have neither problem with Nirvana.[/QUOTE]
It can't be that because Nirvana is so infectious to you, you can't comprehend why it is that they can bore somebody else?

Personally, I'm quite at odds with the "GT stereotype" -- for starters, I'm a bassist, my roots are in the "Alternative" music of the 90's and Dream Theater and Steve Vai induce me to power-nap. Need proof? My favorite band, ever is Morphine.

That said, I can only enjoy Nirvana in limited doses. [In terms of Seattle bands] I've always been a much bigger fan of Soundgarden and Alice in Chains and if I want to listen to something more in the lines of Nirvana, I'll throw in 7 Year B*tch or The Gits over Nirvana any day. I just find all of those bands more lyrically, dynamically, rhythmically and compositionally interesting.

AiC very much typifies what I'm talking about here: They were absolutely unafraid to show off their 80's hair-metal roots, venture into intricate, layered vocal harmonies, play with chord voicings, mix Country with Rock and Metal, turn 4/4 time in against itself or strip everything down to a one chord stomp. Everybody in that band found quirky, unique ways of doing things that you don't hear anywhere else -- even in the legions of Nu-Metal imitators who try so hard to follow in AiC's footsteps but never measure up.