I could use some help with this

tt44
tt44
07/05/2006 11:12 pm
I've been playing an acoustic for 2 years, and I've always toyed with the idea of singing and playing. But I've been jamming with some guys for a couple of months, and we're looking for a singer, but not finding one.

Our drummer told me one day "hey, you've got a pretty good voice, how about you play and sing for us", I like the idea, but I'm finding out that I can't sing and play at the same time.

I can sing and play individually, but when I try to do them together, I always lose track of the lyrics, or the chord changes.

Can anyone give me any tips on playing and singing?

any criticism or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
# 1
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
07/06/2006 1:31 am
Well very few legends that can sing and play are born. Most of the time you just have to practice your butt off. It sounds cliche but it's the truth. Find an easy song with some easy chord progressions and an easy vocal melody and practice. A few that spring to mind are "Knockin' on Heavens Door", "American Pie"and a song called "Eve of Destruction".
Magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator

"If it feels right, play it. If it feels wrong, play it fasterā€ - Magicninja
www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
iiholly
hmm
iiholly
hmm
07/06/2006 4:46 am
This is how I learned. I started on a song with 3/4 timing, and moderately difficult to me back then. "Wondering Aloud" by Jethro Tull. (If you start out with a harder song, you'll find it easier to just add on easier songs.) Then I practiced the song till I had it down perfect, and added on the vocals. It took a lot of repetition. But after I figured out how to do, its cake now. Its hard for me to imagine not to be able to sing and play at the same time. It isn't possible. Good luck.

# 3
Fenderalltheway
Fenderalltheway
07/09/2006 5:27 am
Just got to practice alot.
"When you want to rock hard children, lean of F#."
# 4