Practice Routines

suicidalmoose
Full Access
suicidalmoose
Full Access
05/21/2006 5:14 pm
OK well I've only been playing for about 6 months now and 3 of those months i've been practicing pretty religiously (at least an hour a day), but recently it's lowered to about half an hour a day and even less, basicaly i keep hitting walls, and then getting over them and practicing heaps.

so now that i go to the gym and have my own routine that i do no matter what, i figured i'd apply the same to my guitar. 2 Hours a day, 2 songs a day, and massive scale and chord practice.

So does anybody else have a practice routine?
# 1
Trinivalts
Trinivalts
05/22/2006 1:01 pm
I have been playing less than a year for now. The first months I played much less than now. About 20-40 minutes a day, but later I started playing more and more and on some days it's even 4 hours a day, but that happens kinda rearly. Mostly I'm just playing at the start, sometimes coming up with stuff I found good enought and I play it multiple times to remember it. When it's done or I can't make any new stuff I just Play my earlier stuff or do some technique training, like trying to perfect my barre chords (the 2nd and 3rd strings still buzz a little when my hand is getting tired) or practicing smooth picking, as I like to call it. Picking witout any buzz or unneeded pull off's when releasing my fingers from frets. Thats pretty hard when doing arps. Because I place my finger under each other and then it's more difficult.
I rearly train my ear by learning songs, but I have learned some riffs. I reacently learned some classical pieces from a game soundtrack (game called 'Warcraft III') There were some big intervals but I did it. I found that learning classical music is easyer for me. Than some slow rock or blues solos, altought those classical pieces were pretty slow, easy enough for me.
# 2
jimmy_kwtx
jimmy_kwtx
05/22/2006 9:43 pm
Please do not take any of this in the wrong way.