View post (Solos and improvising)

View thread

emmanuel79
emmanuel79
07/16/2001 7:30 am
Hello, this is my first time to post in this website and in this forum. Well, to find out how to improve yourself is by practising a lot of scales. Basically Blues, and to have a variety of idea you need to learn more scales such the Arabic scales, chromatic scales, learn how to play natural harmonics, arpegios (all chords), jazz scales, learn how to tapping, play diminished scales. Try put all this with the sweeping technique and you will find a very interesting sound and ideas. When listening to musics especially in those guitar soloing part, try to imagine how the person played. If you can imagine, you can visualize and transform it into your own idea when playing in a live band. In Malaysia no one knows who I am coz' I didn't promote myself. Steve Vai, Earl Klugh inspire me a lot. I may not play like him but you may see something in him that is called EGO. Ego boost yourself as a CONFIDENT and confidents keeps you ahead. Be like him no matter what is the concept of music you are playing. I can play from Religious song, Classical Jazz, to Undergraound metal song and I can play my own solo in various ways in any chord. This is my EGO and I believe everyone in this forum have their own Ego but does not know how to use is to boost themselves. Only those who reach this level understand what I am saying here. Keep this principle - "Wherever I go, I can play songs whatever they want and whatever they like to hear". So, that means you must prepare yourself with variety of skills and knowledge. Not just playing but the attitude. Don't let EGO kill yourself. Let the EGO introduce you to the people who you are?