starting a 2-tone ska band

quickfingers
quickfingers
02/22/2006 3:41 pm
any cool covers off the top of your head? obviously im making almost all origionals; i have some experience wiht trumpet so its not going to be incredibly difficult at all to write brass lines and ****. but the best part about ska is the awesome cover songs. i want to cover something totally...awesome. any ideas? maybe black sabbath? some iron maiden? i heard a ska band cover Mr Roboto by Styx a few years back, and they did it so well that i almost **** my pants. the guitarist even mimicked the synth line with harmonics. amazing. anywho, any suggestions whatsoever?
"the more you know, the less you know. I don't feel like i know shit anymore, but i love it."
-Mike Stern

PERSONAL WANKAGE
# 1
rockonn91
rockonn91
02/24/2006 2:46 am
Originally Posted by: quickfingersany cool covers off the top of your head? obviously im making almost all origionals; i have some experience wiht trumpet so its not going to be incredibly difficult at all to write brass lines and ****. but the best part about ska is the awesome cover songs. i want to cover something totally...awesome. any ideas? maybe black sabbath? some iron maiden?

YAY FOR SKA!

okayy. what your talking about is doing some metal songs... and turning them ska?

thats weird. dont you know ska kids and metal heads dont get along?

haha. but seriously... theyre basically opposite genres... why not just do a cover of a ska song? thats gunna be alot easier than totally figuring out how to work horns into some maiden riff. when just starting a ska band, its gunna be important to know what your doing first before experimenting.

less than jake, reel big fish, mighty mighty bosstones, the aquabats. those four have some easy songs, some harder.

some easy covers i'd try:

that impression that i get- bosstones.
jonny quest, 9th and pine, shes gunna break soon- less than jake.
pizza day, pool party, captain hampton- Aquabats.