minor key chord progressions

pentaking 1
pentaking 1
11/06/2005 9:48 pm
hey guys;I am just getting into writing my own material,and have figured out the formulae for major keys (ie maj,maj,min,min,maj,dim) but cannot get the right formulae for minor keys----can anyone tell me?
# 1
Jolly McJollyson
Chick Magnet
Jolly McJollyson
Chick Magnet
11/06/2005 9:58 pm
Originally Posted by: pentaking 1hey guys;I am just getting into writing my own material,and have figured out the formulae for major keys (ie maj,maj,min,min,maj,dim) but cannot get the right formulae for minor keys----can anyone tell me?

umm...That's not the formula for Major keys...

Major is

Maj Min Min Maj Maj Min Dim

Minor is

Min Dim Maj Min Min Maj Maj

However, if you're writing classical, V is always major (unless you're Wagner or somebody) So the Minor chords would be Min Dim Maj Min Maj Maj Maj.

Also, the IV is occasionally major if you're using the melodic minor, which you will be in classical. Common Classical progressions are usually centered around I-V-I cadences.
I want the bomb
I want the P-funk!

My band is better than yours...
# 2
pentaking 1
pentaking 1
11/06/2005 10:10 pm
thanx man;just for the record,I didn't put the exact major formulae--just an example---but thanx anyway for the reply :D
# 3
equator
equator
11/06/2005 11:14 pm
Originally Posted by: Jolly McJollyson
Minor is

Min Dim Maj Min Min Maj Maj

Min Dim Maj Min Maj Maj Maj.
Also, the IV is occasionally major if you're using the melodic minor, which you will be in classical. Common Classical progressions are usually centered around I-V-I cadences.

That`s right.
You get those chords when harmonizing the minor scale with triads.
If you wanna include other chords than triads; try harmonizing the scale with seventh chords or nineth chords:
Min7....Dim7....Maj7....Min7....Min7....Maj7....Dom7.
..................or..............................
Min9....Dim7....Maj9....Min9....Min9....Maj9....9

The Harmonic Minor gives you: