which scales do you use?

LearningGuitar
LearningGuitar
09/18/2005 2:59 am
id like to know which scales u guys use for most of urs solos and how u practice them like do u just memorize it and mix the notes around im really having a hard time on scales at the moment and need allite advice on what to do i just got a nice arbor and a small line6 amp on the way and i wanna become a better soloist
# 1
heknowsnothing
heknowsnothing
09/18/2005 7:53 am
Personaly, at the moment as I am also a beginner at soloing, I use the C Major Scale. That is the main, basic scale. To memorize them I play them over and over looking at the sheet, then try a couple of notes without looking and before you know it, wa la, you know a scale. As you get better you can try different scales and see what you like.
Im not ok. Im not okhayhay. Im not ok.
Im not O f****n K.
# 2
Baxx123
Baxx123
09/19/2005 4:11 pm
These are the scales I use to improvise. I practice them Chromatically and though the cycle of 5ths. I play each Pentatonic scale with 5 different fingerings. I do the 7 note scales in 5 to 7 positions.

1. 5 Minor Pentatonic shapes.
2. 5 Major Pentatonic shapes.
3. 5 5 Dominant Pentatonic shapes. (C E F G Bb)
4. 5 to 7 Major scales, including practicing from each root for modes.
5. 5 Harmonic Minor Scales, especially the 5th mode, Phrygian Dominant.
6. 5 Major Hexatonic (C D E F G A)
7. Others as needed
# 3
NightProwler
NightProwler
09/19/2005 9:12 pm
Originally Posted by: LearningGuitarid like to know which scales u guys use for most of urs solos and how u practice them like do u just memorize it and mix the notes around im really having a hard time on scales at the moment and need allite advice on what to do i just got a nice arbor and a small line6 amp on the way and i wanna become a better soloist

First of all what kind of music are do you want to solo over so I can give you the proper scales to use? :confused:
# 4
equator
equator
09/20/2005 7:33 pm