Humbuckers?

SoulDistortion
SoulDistortion
09/11/2005 12:52 pm
How do humbuckers change the tone of a guitar in addition to the tone quaility in general. I have heard that humbuckers are optimized for Metal but im not quite sure. Anyone have any info about humbuckers they can share. Including price in addition to tone. Any information would be great.
---iiholly
My friend died rock climbing on Saturday. He was drunk though... and he didn't normally rock climb. [...] I'm not too good with death.
---6strngs_2hmbkrs
I hesitate to take a post from iiholly seriously...
---iiholly
Well, Mike dying is pretty serious to me. I couldn't have stopped it, I wasn't there.
---6strngs_2hmbkrs
sorry, ok, i thought it might have been a joke, I'm terribly sorry
---Akira
This thread has turned out well.
# 1
jedicaster
Mine's 1 louder
jedicaster
Mine's 1 louder
09/11/2005 1:45 pm
for me the main difference a Humbucker makes is the lack of noise (hum).
Humbuckers can be very versatile bits of kit. It all depends on their output.
You will see some with names such as screamin demon or Humbucker from hell. These are obviously high output and would be ideal for metal. However those with a lower output say the vintage types would be suited to country, jazz and rock etc.
Have a look at the Seymour Duncan site or Dimarzio. :)
[FONT=Tahoma]Jedicaster[/FONT]

I am vibrating at the speed of light.
# 2
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
09/11/2005 3:22 pm
[font=trebuchet ms]Please use the Search button in the toolbar at the top of the page to pull up some of the archived threads on this subject. There's a lot of good info in there.

BTW: the Humbucker From Hell is a DiMarzio design that was developed for use in the neck position with the intention of cleaning up a muddy guitar. The name comes from the tone resulting from (mis)using it in the bridge position. In the neck position, it works well for any style that needs clear note definition.[/font]
Lordathestrings