View post (i need help!!!!!!!!!!!)

View thread

Mike MacGuffie
Mike MacGuffie
05/12/2001 1:15 am
I'm not a doctor; but does the 'cracking sound' sometimes feel like your pinky is going to break or becomes momentarily painful when this happens? My 'pops' on occasion; and somtimes it feels like the knuckle/joint 'snapped.' Or if I did the lick again, it feels like my pinky is going to break. When this happens, I crack the joint by holding my pinky, and roll it from side to side. This will get the "kink' out of it. I've noticed that this happens when I play a fast run and suddeningly stop and place a quick vibrato (or hammer) on the lick with my pinky. I've also noticed that if I change the angle of my left hand a little bit(in relationship to the strings/frets)it helps keep this from happening.

I would recommend assessing the lick(s) your doing when this happens. It might be the position that your left hand is in, placing a little extra pressure on the pinky. You also might be anchoring your pinky while performing a particular lick, and actually "cracking the pinky" when you execute the lick. For example: Try placing your pinky on a hard surface (like your point it down at the surface). Put some pressure on it, and pivit it side-to-side. If it cracks or feels like it's going to, the vibrato and extra pressure might be causing this. Try different movements with your pinky when doing this and see if you can isolate the causation.