Self-teaching methods

bunmiadefisayo
bunmiadefisayo
03/31/2005 2:35 pm
Hi all, i just started learning guitar and have been teaching myself for about 4 mths. First though a little background info: i played piano for about 5 yrs and am pretty good. However ever since i got to college i decided to take on guitar and am teaching myself to play. I learnt all the basic open position chords but later became bored and started learning scales.

FFrankly i dont know if this is the right way to start leafning guitar, by playing scales that is. Eventually i will get myself a teacher but i jsut wanted some advice on how to proceed and if i am going in the right direction. I really want to play jazz and blues guitar and some of those chords look plain HARD! So i decided to learn scales anmd how to build my own chords from them.

If nothing here makes sense please tell me :) I really dont know how to get my question out any better. Thanks
# 1
konman
konman
03/31/2005 6:25 pm
I'd say, go to your closest public library and flip through some books on guitar methods. See what clicks.
Recently I have subscribed to a guitar magazine that comes with a cd -- I listen to the cd, when I hear smth that I want to learn, I read the article and start practicing.
And again -- no pain, no gain. To move forward, you have to try and play those aweful chords. It will take a while, but you'll get there.
And have fun!
# 2
Allan DeSouza
Allan DeSouza
03/31/2005 6:34 pm
Besides learning just the open chords I would also include learning the bar chords which are a bit difficult to play at first. Learn to play each Chord in atleast 3 different position on the fret board. This will become very handy later when you need to play quick chord changes.

Just a thought.

Happy guitar playing!!

Allan.
# 3
chucklivesoninmyheart
Non-Existent
chucklivesoninmyheart
Non-Existent
03/31/2005 7:23 pm
heh,I cheat and strum E A and D while I scramble my ring finger to G on most bar chords.
Try once,fail twice...
# 4