Info on 4 track recorders

rockonman
rockonman
03/14/2005 2:23 am
Ok so I have been playing for a little over 2 years now, and anytime I have wanted to record anything I would always just set up a tape player and hit record, or go to my buddies and we would record on cakewalk or somthing. The more I talk to other guitarists however the more I hear about how nice 4 track recorders are and how cool they are to work with. Now obviously I know nothing about them: how they work, which brands are best, where is a cheap place to get them...and so on and so forth. Any information anyone can provide would definately be helpful. Thanx guys.
"Live your life while you have it. A life not lived is a life wasted, and a life wasted is unforgivable."
Tyler Wilkins
Feb 2003
# 1
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
03/14/2005 3:47 am
Have a look at the Tascam Portastudio range.
I started with a 424mk III and it was great.

Or if you want digital have a look at the Korg PRX4
My instructors page and www.studiotrax.net for all things recording.
my toons Brought to you by Dr BadGAS
# 2
PRSplaya
Full Access
PRSplaya
Full Access
03/15/2005 1:36 pm
I can vouch for the 424 the good Doctor suggested. It works like a charm and is really easy to learn how to use it.

I think 4-tracks are a great place to start for anybody wanting to get into recording. Then once you get good at that, it's just that much easier once you go digital.
[FONT=Palatino Linotype]Tonja Renee's personal instructor[/FONT]

>HERE'S WHERE I AM NOW<
# 3
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
03/15/2005 3:43 pm
Yep, wot he said !!
# 4
rockonman
rockonman
03/15/2005 5:07 pm
So do you guys think the Korg PXR4 is really a good piece, my friend has one and he highly recomends it. The thing is he doesnt know much more about 4 tracks than I do...that is why I asked you guys