issue with guitar in a live recording

heyindie
heyindie
08/02/2004 6:49 pm
hi guys i have this little problem (btw i'm new here :thumb: )
some people recorded a live show that my band played yesterday night, but i got a question: they recorded in MONO (shame on them), and while the sound is overall very clear, my guitar sucks (in 80% of the songs we use only one guitar), it sounds like a very "superficial" distortion (lol, i'm italian, it's hard for me to explain this in english), without depth.. overall the volume is too low, while the bass is too high and the drums have a bit too reverb..

i got cubase sx2 (i'm a noob at it), and THE REAL QUESTION IS:is there a filter for cubase or another program, that could help me give more depth to my guitar and a fatter distortion without destroying the rest of the recording?
besides, they gave us this recording in mp3, thus without single tracks..this makes hard to do something good to repair this bad recording...

thanks for any advice
(i hope i didn't post in the wrong forum ;) i'm new here)
# 1
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
08/02/2004 7:03 pm
There is, go to http://www.har-bal.com (short for harmonic balance) and you should be able to find a demo. However. I wouldn't expect it to end up sounding like it has come out of Abby Road !

You might want to suggest to the dude doing the recording that a pair of matched stereo mikes wouldn't break the bank !

Even the oldest reel to reel tape recorders have a left and a right input !
My instructors page and www.studiotrax.net for all things recording.
my toons Brought to you by Dr BadGAS
# 2
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
08/02/2004 9:34 pm