Boredom and a change of direction

DraconusJLM
DraconusJLM
10/12/2021 9:50 pm

I've been playing guitar for several decades now, although with a break brought on by other commitments of around 15 years in the middle; acoustic to begin with, then moved on to mainly electric.

A few bands later, and I found myself at the start of this Covid-19 completely bored. Fed up with playing rock music, and with no focus or musical direction. (The biggest setback of being in a band is having to play the same songs over and over, which is made worse if you're growing generally bored with the genre - also, so many pub bands play rock covers). Lockdown rules also prevented getting together with other musicians (I'm in the UK)

Thankfully, my son bought me a subscription to GT as a Father's Day gift. I pretty much raced through GF 1&2 in a couple of days, then decided to give Country 1&2 a try.

I'm now happily working on playing techniques that I previously neglected (chicken picking is especially fun, as is hybrid picking).

I've also decided my next band or project will be playing country.

Has anybody else had a similar change in musical direction, and music listened to, since joining GT?

I wish this forum had a "block user" feature. Possibly I'm not the only one......

# 1
mjgodin
mjgodin
10/13/2021 12:34 am

While I'm not a musician, by any means, I understand what your saying about being bored with certain things. I tried learning guitar back in the early eighties and at that time just wanted to play rock. My instructor, after teaching me the fundamentals was teaching country music cause that's all he knew.