Electric guitar effects

jamesarlenevans
jamesarlenevans
01/25/2012 2:26 am
I’m very new to music and learning to play an electric guitar and am trying to practice some of the tricks that I see the Pros use. Problem is that I don’t always know what to call the ‘trick’ so I can look it up to see how it’s done. The effect I’m looking for now is when the string is plucked, its where the player slides his finger up or down the string. I can’t describe the ‘sound’ except if you tried to say it, it sounds like ‘whoop’. Can anyone tell me what that is called and what other tricks to look for and learn? Many thanks as a new traveler in this space.
Jim
# 1
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
01/25/2012 3:16 am
Originally Posted by: jamesarlenevans The effect I’m looking for now is when the string is plucked, its where the player slides his finger up or down the string.