Practice suggestions

Sad Dad
Sad Dad
09/21/2021 5:36 pm

Hello,

I'm a newbie / beginner going through the Fundamental Basic Lessons. Can anyone suggest how much time should be spent on lessons such as "One Finger per Fret" and the "Spider Legs Warm Up"? I don't know if I should practice 30-60 minutes per day on One Finger Per Fret before moving on to the next lesson. Similarly with the Spider Legs Warm Up.......how long to spend on each and when do assess your abilty to move to the next lesson.

Thanks

GB

Big G

# 1
Sore.fingers
Sore.fingers
09/22/2021 5:58 am

If I understood it correctly, there is no one-size-fits-all answer.

Personally, I try to practice at least twice to three times a day. Half an hour to an hour each time. (The first days, it was only a few minutes; I didn't change my username to sore.fingers without a reason .)

I continue with the next lesson just before I start to get comfortable with the previous one. I figured that keeping on the same thing for a long time might get boring and frustrating.

I don't aim for perfection (yet) and try to keep it fun. So I do make mistakes, but I do improve.

At the end of each session, I quickly go back to a previous lesson. Example, I,m almost at the end of GF1, but Ode To Joy is still part of my routine... And there is still room for improvement, but it gets easier.

There is is also a lesson on how to practice in GF1. So you'll get the pro-tips over there.

Good luck.

Jan

# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/22/2021 11:29 am

Hey & welcome to GT!

Originally Posted by: gvb5043

I'm a newbie / beginner going through the Fundamental Basic Lessons. Can anyone suggest how much time should be spent on lessons such as "One Finger per Fret" and the "Spider Legs Warm Up"?